It’s All in the De-Tales! (an introduction & a photo-shoot with berry branches)

I have been concocting this in my head for months now and finally decided it was time to put “the pen to paper” so to say.its all in the details

I know that one of my book buying habits is to pick up and purchase a book based purely on looks.  You say: don’t judge a book by its cover, and I don’t!  I judge it on so much more than that (although admittingly yes, I do still pick up books based on the way it looks so, I guess the saying is still relative here).

There is so much to consider when picking up a book based on how it looks: the cover yes, but also the spine details, the back cover, the pages (are they deckled?! are they sprayed?!), the title pages, the chapter headers, the naked spine, the naked hardcover, and I could go on and on because I just love all of the aspects and characteristics that go into making a book beautiful and unique.

Continue reading “It’s All in the De-Tales! (an introduction & a photo-shoot with berry branches)”

Top 5 Tuesday

I am so relieved that the Broke and the Bookish are putting out Top 10 Tuesday prompts again because LORD KNOWS I am not creative enough to come up with my own prompts!  For more information about this awesome list making meme (and I know you like lists because honestly, who doesn’t?) head HERE!

Today I am going to do a little bit of fantasizing about meeting some of my favorite authors!  I have met a couple so far, mostly at BookCon last year, but I have recently discovered how amazing it is to see authors on their book tours!  There is usually a bad ass Q&A session before the signing, and it is way more intimate than simply standing in line to meet an author at a convention.

Anyways, here are my top 5 authors that I am dying to meet and will definitely try to get to a signing in the future!

Continue reading “Top 5 Tuesday”

February FairyLoot Unboxing!

Every month I say: this is my favorite FairyLoot yet!  And honestly, the February Emperors & Fugitives box was no exception.

I know this is super late, but since the March box was sold out anyway, I figured I had time to get this posted before anyone was able to purchase the April box!  As usual, I will provide the retail price for all of the items that were found in the box.  I think this helps for those who are considering grabbing a box, or possibly subscribing, but havent quite committed yet because the cost of international shipping is too much/overwhelming. This will be a quick post since I am sure everyone has already seen the contents of this box around Instagram, but I just wanted to throw in my two cents too!

Continue reading “February FairyLoot Unboxing!”

Empress of a Thousand Skies – more like a thousand whats?!

Rhoda Belleza

Published February 7, 2017
Empress of a Thousand Skies #1

empressI was super excited to receive this book in the February FairyLoot as it has been on my upcoming book radar for a while.  I was first intrigued by a promo of the book that described it as “Arya Stark in space.” Oh my god.  Sign me the fuck up, that sounds legit.

Then, the blurb says its perfect for fans of Red Rising and The Lunar Chronicles.  DOUBLE OH MY GOD.  Red Rising is one of my fave trilogies, LET’S DO THIS!

Or, how about NOT.

Looking back, it actually makes me angry that they put Red Rising on the blurb because the only thing the two books have in common is Outer Space.  I haven’t read The Lunar Chronicles so I can’t speak for that fandom, but I am mildly offended for all my fellow Howlers out there.

Continue reading “Empress of a Thousand Skies – more like a thousand whats?!”

The Dreaded Book Slump & How I Handle It (spoiler alert: like an ADULT)

We’ve all been there.

img_6047We all know that dreaded feeling: the feeling when no book is scratching that reading itch.  And even worse, the effort to pick up a new book is too great.  Instead you watch countless hours of TV or really dumb YouTube videos, you spend a lot of time looking through Instagram or Twitter, search endlessly for new shops on Etsy, and overall just avoid looking at all of your unread books.

The biggest problem with falling into a book slump though, is not the actual lack of reading.  Instead, it’s more that they seem to be perpetual, almost like a snowball rolling down a snowy mountainside.  I have found that the longer I go without reading, the harder it is to pull myself out of a slump.

Continue reading “The Dreaded Book Slump & How I Handle It (spoiler alert: like an ADULT)”

February Wrap Up & Haul!

For being the shortest month of the year, February dragged on and on for me.  It started out on a bad note with me being sick, and then all of a sudden, I wasn’t in the mood to read at all.  img_9104Instead, I spent most of my nights watching my boyfriend play video games, and messing around on my iPad.

At first, I felt guilty about it: so many books to read, so little time right!?  But its okay to have sub par reading months, just as its okay to have amazing reading months.  This is a past time, a pleasure hobby, not a job.  I can read as much or as little as I want; it’s my time and I certainly am not getting paid to read and review books.

Anyways, I just wanted to go on that mini rant and let anyone know that if they are feeling down on themselves for being in a reading slump, everything is going to be okay.  Sometimes we need a little break.

Continue reading “February Wrap Up & Haul!”