Strange the Dreamer – A Review Months in the Making…

strange the dreamer detales -5

I finished Strange the Dreamer two months ago, and I am still struggling to put my feelings into words.  BUT.  I think about this book all the time.  Like, ALL THE TIME.  I am borderline consumed with thoughts on what my precious Lazlo is up to, and how everything is going to play out in the next book.

So, since it has been on my mind for months now, I thought I should at least attempt to write a semi coherent review.  Here goes nothing!

Continue reading “Strange the Dreamer – A Review Months in the Making…”

Empress of a Thousand Skies – more like a thousand whats?!

Rhoda Belleza

Published February 7, 2017
Empress of a Thousand Skies #1

empressI was super excited to receive this book in the February FairyLoot as it has been on my upcoming book radar for a while.  I was first intrigued by a promo of the book that described it as “Arya Stark in space.” Oh my god.  Sign me the fuck up, that sounds legit.

Then, the blurb says its perfect for fans of Red Rising and The Lunar Chronicles.  DOUBLE OH MY GOD.  Red Rising is one of my fave trilogies, LET’S DO THIS!

Or, how about NOT.

Looking back, it actually makes me angry that they put Red Rising on the blurb because the only thing the two books have in common is Outer Space.  I haven’t read The Lunar Chronicles so I can’t speak for that fandom, but I am mildly offended for all my fellow Howlers out there.

Continue reading “Empress of a Thousand Skies – more like a thousand whats?!”

The Mime Order

Samantha Shannon

Published January 27th, 2015 by Bloomsbury

The Bone Season #2

17901125If you thought The Bone Season was a crazy read: well, buckle in my friends, because The Mime Order is absolute insanity.  I tried, I tried so hard to not read this book in one sitting, and I succeeded somewhat!  I read it in three sittings.  Go me!

Reading this series though, is borderline torture.  I just want to get to the end so badly, yet there are 5….FIVE books left to be published (including The Song Rising which is coming out in March 2017 THANK THE LORD). I feel so invested in this story and the characters already, and I can see this series being my next big obsession for the next decade.

What I love, and I find to be one of the more unique aspects of the Bone Season books, is that each new book picks up mere seconds after the last one ended.  There is no ‘six months later’ recap, there is only non-stop action.

Continue reading “The Mime Order”

Order to Kill

Kyle Mills (series created by Vince Flynn)

Published October 11th, 2016 by Simon & Schuster

Mitch Rapp #15

29493393I realize that writing this review, I’m not really appealing to most of the people that read and follow my blog.  But, I had a thought while reading that deserved discussing whether you are a fan of the series or not, so bear with me here…

Order to Kill is the 15th book in a long standing series that I got sucked into a few years ago with my dad; and while it certainly isn’t the type of book I usually read, *cough cough fantasy/scifi cough* I love myself a good political thriller every now and again.

The Mitch Rapp series is a story that was created by author Vince Flynn: its basically about a college kid that is recruited by the CIA, who is then trained to become their top operative/assassain (depending on the scenario).  Obviously this is extreme summarizing going on here, but the series spans several decades, with Rapp being immortalized as this sort of American hero and globally feared among the “bad guys” of the terrorist world.

Tragically, Vince Flynn lost his battle with cancer a few years ago, and so it seemed the Mitch Rapp dynasty had come to an end.  But last year another author, Kyle Mills,  picked up the series, writing in Flynn’s style, so the characters could live on.

Continue reading “Order to Kill”

Morning Star

Pierce Brown

Published February 2016

Red Rising #3

18966806I am doing it.  It is happening.  I am finally going to review Morning Star, after finishing this dang book over two months ago.

With the ending of Golden Son being the most bat-shit insane ending / cliff hanger to a book I have read possibly EVER, it wasn’t long before I picked up Morning Star.  And by “wasn’t long”, I mean it was approximately 7 and 1/2 minutes.

While this final installment in the Red Rising trilogy wasn’t my favorite of the three, it was a solid ending to a fantastic series, and I highly recommend the series to any fan of science fiction.  I think Morning Star left much to explore and possible situations unexplored, but for the most part, I finished the book satisfied, so it’s a weird line to walk.

Please, beware that while this review will not have too many spoilers for Morning Star individually, it is EXTREMELY difficult to review the finale in a trilogy without spoiling some aspects of the previous two books. You have officially  been warned.

Darrow would have lived in peace, but his enemies brought him war.

Continue reading “Morning Star”

Three Dark Crowns

Kendare Blake

Published September 20th, 2016 by HarperTeen 

Three Dark Crowns #1

23207027

When my sister and I went to BookCon back in May of this year, we played a Plinko game at the Epic Reads booth to win ARCs!  I got something that i couldn’t have been less interested in (I am/was so uninterested that I cannot for the life of me remember what I even won), and my sister scored a copy of Three Dark Crowns – and refused to trade.

 *insert grouchy face here*

But the great news is that Three Dark Crowns was the book that was included in the September OwlCrate, so I didn’t have to even leave my apartment to get my hands on it! (I mean, except to walk to the apartment office, but that doesn’t count).  Obviously, this was one of my more anticipated reads of the year since I have coveted this book since May, so, I discarded my usual habit of tossing subscription box books into my TBR pile to ‘await their turn’, and immediately started reading. Continue reading “Three Dark Crowns”

The Graces

Laure Eve

Published September 1, 2016 by Amulet Books 

The Graces #1

28818369

I have always been upfront about my “problem” for picking up a book based solely on its cover, and honestly, I haven’t ever regretted this habit of mine.

Until The Graces made its way into my life.

I have been ogling this book on #bookstagram for the past few weeks, and skimmed the synopsis before I decided that I needed this book.  I didn’t even search for a better deal on Amazon or any other online retailer, just walked into Barnes & Noble one day and bought it for full price.

Maybe I wouldn’t be so bitter if I hadn’t spent $20 on this.  But then again, maybe I am just bitter because The Graces is a textbook example of the “don’t judge a book  by its cover” saying.

Continue reading “The Graces”